Wednesday, July 22, 2009

Tickets Arrive!

happy day! my eagles tickets arrive in the mail. a little bittersweet though. all of the miserable seasons i've experienced being of fan of these underperforming professional sports teams of ours, and i'm too busy these days to enjoy the best run we've had since the late 70's/early 80's glory years.

Labels:

Thursday, January 15, 2009

If Eagles Fans Had Done This...

it would be a lead story on the national news

here are giants fans smashing up a porsche in the parking lot after seeing their team lose


and when they're finished with that one, they move onto the next car


not the first time, here's how giants fans celebrated the superbowl win earlier this year


ever hear a peep about this crap in the media?

Labels: ,

Wednesday, January 07, 2009

JC Romero Thoughts

most of philadelphia is up-in-arms about the "injustice" of jc romero being given a 50 game suspension for "unknowingly" taking banned substances from a supplement he bought at a GNC.

i can certainly understand where people are coming from, because i was thinking the same way until i looked at the product he purchased. some facts, as reported, that would lead you to side with jc are:

- this product wasn't on the banned substances list

- jc asked multiple nutritionists if the ingredients in the supplement were ok to take

- jc asked the trainer if the supplement was ok to take (trainer said he didn't know)

- jc asked the union if it was ok to take (union said it was ok)

based on these widely reported facts, i initially thought that the suspension seemed unfair -- that he never intended to violate the drug policy and that he took the "supplement" in good faith.

then out of curiosity, i googled the product he supposedly took. here is the first google link that came up:

http://anabolicminds.com/store/1347.html

it's not a popular stance, but i'm on record as saying that i think this whole notion of cheating makes no sense to me. if a grown man wants to take something that makes him a better player -- thereby increasing my entertainment -- so be it. (note: i understand the argument that allowing pros to take steroids encourages kids to take it. it's potentially the only valid reason to ban the stuff.)

however, for good or bad, the rules are in place... and it's clear to me that romero's intent was to artificially boost his testosterone levels via these "supplements". so while in his mind, he may not have technically violated the doping restrictions. to me, his intent to circumvent the spirit of the rule is clear.

here is some text from the advertising for the "supplement":

We undertook the due testing to prove to ourselves that this product had the ability to stimulate testosterone levels beyond even the range of upper normal - indeed it stimulates levels well into the supraphysiological range.

i don't know. sounds like steroids to me.

Labels: ,

Wednesday, December 03, 2008

School Board Shenanigans?

this isn't about sports, but it's what has been occupying my time and energy recently

let's pretend that there was a school district somewhere that was thinking about taking all of the children who live within a one-mile radius around a school and bussing those children to another school several miles away so that other children could be bussed in to attend in their place. can anyone envision a scenario where this makes logical sense (unless you're one of those people working to displace)? i sure can't.

yet that is exactly what is happening in Lower Merion, where the school board is not only thinking about doing this, they actually proposed a redistricting plan that would essentially take a community of walkers and turn them into bus riders.

“Why would they do this?” you might ask. “What’s the logic behind a move like that?”

“Is it for fairness?” – not really the children involved already face the longest commute times for both elementary and middle school to schools other than the ones to which they are closest

“Is it for environmental reasons?” – i’m not sure, but i suspect converting 200 walkers into bus riders isn’t exactly what I’d call “green”

“Is there a cost savings?” – doubtful as the district will now have to add bus capacity to service those 200 additional riders

“Why would they do it then?”

there are a number of factors involved (political, demographic, wealth), but unfortunately logic and fairness seem to be lacking. the bottom line is that the district decided that adding 10 minutes to the commute of one community (the wealthier one where the children already walk to elementary school and attend their closest middle school) was more burdensome than turning over another community (the less well-to-do one that chooses and values its walking lifestyle and whose children already face the longest commutes for both elementary and middle schools) and forcing them onto a bus.

shame on you, Lower Merion school board. shame on you.

Labels:

Monday, September 15, 2008

Quote of the Night

"westbrook is so short, the only place they can grab him is his facemask."

- my wife

Labels:

Friday, August 29, 2008

Back from the Dead

sorry again for the lack of activity! it's been a busy year for me at work and with the new (old) house. my role at work has evolved somewhat and now requires me to make 2-3 business trips a month -- which i hate and messes me up completely. the good news is that the house is coming along nicely and 9 months after moving in, things are finally rounding into shape.

no more tools strewn about here and there waiting for my 3 year old to injure himself. no more dust generating projects waiting to undo all the cleaning we've done.

since we moved in, here are some of the projects/catastrophes i've tackled or hired someone else to tackle (in no particular order):

- pipe burst in basement prior to us moving in and ran for somewhere between 2-4 days filling the basement with water (fun!)

- refinished the hardwood floors

- fixed the 50 year old boiler to get it running again so that more pipes wouldn't burst.

- replaced the old boiler with a new one high efficiency boiler and switched from oil to gas

- installed central air conditioning

- repainted interior

- repainted exterior

- rototilled entire backyard and seeded with grass

- built playset in backyard

- chopped down 6 trees

- insulated attic areas

- replaced a large portion of the roof (btw - i hired some guys from lancaster to do this, they were the most impressive contractors i saw. they showed up at 9 am in wedge haircuts and black wool pants with suspenders (on a 90 degree day), nodded hello and started climbing up ladders and tearing the roof apart. i didn't see them take any breaks. i didn't see them eat lunch. these guys took off two layers of asphalt shingles and one layer of cedar roof shingles, nailed down plywood on the rafters, and installed the new roof shingles and were done by 2 pm.

- replaced or fixed every plumbing fixture in the house. i am not kidding when i say that everything that carried water in the house was leaking when we bought it -- every sink, shower, tub, and faucet. the worst was the first week we owned the house. there is a new bathtub that the previous owner installed into a raised tile enclosure in the master bath. the first time we tried it, water poured into the room below like someone had installed a faucet on the ceiling. it turns out the previous owner had installed the tub, hand tightened the plumbing connections, and tiled the whole thing over. i had to chisel out a bunch of tiles just to get to the connections.

- ran plumbing to places that needed but didn't have any water -- new utility sink in basement and two outside faucets

- added heat to the kitchen and master bath (had no heat when we moved in)

- upgraded electric service to 200 amps

- replaced cellar door

- replaced some rotted basement windows with glass block

- installed radon system

- ran electric to stove area to install range hood

- propped up front porch and had a stone column that was collapsing torn down and rebuilt using the same stones

- refinished original sink in hall bathroom (need to do the same to the tub)

i'm sure i'm forgetting other stuff, but it's been a lot of fun and i've learned a lot. the good news is that i'm mostly done with the major projects so things should settle down a little for me -- freeing up some time to blog.

Labels:

Thursday, May 22, 2008

On Hiatus

i'd like to be more active on the blog, but unfortunately, i just don't have the time right now. i've taken on a number of new clients and have been traveling so much it's been tough to even keep up on sports news let alone comment on it.

then when i'm not working, i'm working on 100 year old fixer-upper house.

my hope is that i can get back into it when football season rolls around.

Labels:

Thursday, February 14, 2008

World's Smallest Bodybuilder

at first glance, i was sure this was a photoshop but it's freaking real. this guy is awesome




















read about it here.

some eagles thoughts:

1) LJ stinks - have no idea why they'd want to commit that much money to keeping him.

2) kudos to eli manning for being a decent game manager in the playoffs, but he still stinks. superbowl should have ended when asante samuel dropped the pick.

3) giants may have the best overall passrush i've seen in years, maybe ever. that was the single biggest factor in the superbowl.

4) eagles are not that far off but they need to shore up a few areas (WR, DE, DB). terrell suggs and jared allen are not going anywhere. the one guy who is semi-available and no one is really talking about is larry fitzgerald. if i were the birds, i'd do anything i could to get that guy. i think he's a better player than chad johnson and less of a headcase. he has some of the best hands in football and probably only randy moss has better ball skills in the nfl. if i could only have one thing for the birds, it would be larry fitzgerald. i've never seen him drop a pass -- at pitt or in the pros.

5) i think spagnuolo showed this year that the guts of jj's defense still works as long as you have the players to run it. the eagles lack of success at acquiring difference making defensive ends either in the draft or free agency may be one of the big things holding jj back recently.

Labels: ,

Wednesday, January 16, 2008

Powerthirst



Labels:

Friday, November 16, 2007

Amusing Video

not sports related, but i get a big kick out of this video


i'd love to run around the eagles sideline and punch andy every time he:
- tries to call something other than QB sneak on 3rd and less than 1
- tries to calls a pass on 3rd and 2
- tries to call for play action on 3rd and longer than 8

Labels: ,

Sunday, November 11, 2007

Reinforcing My Relatively Low Regard for Doctors

had to watch the eagles game on a small hospital tv today as i've been cooped up since late last week with no clear picture of when i'll get out.

-begin rant-

this has been and incredibly frustrating experience and continues to reinforce for me that too many doctors are self-important script followers lacking the ability or courage to think critically. most of them could be replaced more effectively by expert systems at least for initial diagnoses.

i've been here since friday pm and they still have no idea what i have.

thursday - i go to my primary doctor because on wednesday night i noticed a painful little bump on my elbow around midnight. by 2 AM and have a high fever with chills and the bump is growing. by thursday morning, it's the size of a golf ball and a black dot has appeared on the center of the bump. my primary doctor, nice guy who i like thinks i have bursitis and asks if i've been resting on my elbows. i ask if bursitis usually causes fever and chills. hmm, he says, it must be an infection, maybe MRSA. i say i'd guess a bug bite, possibly a spider bite? he goes on and on to explain how what everyone believes are spider bites are in fact never spider bites (no spiders in the northeast are venomous enough to hurt people) and that usually it was really MRSA. he says it's probably an infection and asks me if there has been anything leaking out. yes i say, but it's been clear. he thinks he needs to drain fluid to see if it's bursitis. i point out that something black is embedded in my elbow, but he ignores it and tries to drain fluid, getting nothing. he prescribes me some oral antibiotics.

friday - the antibiotics have helped my fever but the swelling continues to increase and is spreading up my arm toward my torso. i call my doctor because he made me promise to call him to follow up. i call at 9 AM as soon as the office opens. no return call. at 12:30 i call to follow up to learn they have closed for the week. what?!? i call his answering service and ask them to page him because he asked me to call him today. at 2 pm i get a call and tell him what is going on. i ask him if i should go to the hospital, he says yes i should go. crap, i'm supposed to be going to the inspection of the house we're trying to buy at 3 pm. i go to the emergency room and wait for 2 hours before getting into the exam room to tell them what happened. i show them the black thing and they ignore it. they think it's probably an infection and treat me with clindasomething. they don't take a culture of the fluid seeping out of my arm. i wait. they decide i have to stay overnight so they take me upstairs to admit me. they tell me they're going to put me on vancosomething instead to cover more types of infections. both doctors i meet in the ER think nothing of the black spot in my arm. the nurse tells me i'm supposed to get it every 12 hours so my next dose is due at 10 am, around the time the infectious disease specialist will be around to check me out. my fever goes down and the swelling subsides a little.

saturday - i wake up and ask the new nurse (shift change) where my vancosomething is. she says i'm only supposed to get it every 24 hours. i say the overnight nurse told me every 12 hours. she says "no, the label says every 24 hours". i say i'm sure i was told every 12 hours to no avail. i wait. the infectious disease specialist i was told would come at 10 am doesn't show until 4 pm. by then, swelling has increased, area is hot, and my fever has spiked again. he comes in, basically shrugs his shoulders, yeah, it looks like an infection. i won't be able to tell you what kind until i see the results of the culture. i say they didn't take a culture, he's surprised. i tell him that i was too, but they took blood. he says it would only show up in the blood if it had infected the blood, but then i'd have a bigger problem. he turns to leave. before he gets to the door, i finally ask someone directly "aren't you going to take this black thing out of my elbow?!?!" he tells me he thinks it's a scab. i note that it has skin covering it, and ask him if skin grows over scabs. he comes over to take a closer look. he starts poking at it and then it pops and fluid starts leaking out. he takes a culture and pries out a little oblong black object and (i'm not kidding) turns to my wife and me and asks us if we can see what it is because he doesn't have his contact lenses in. i say i have no idea what it is, it looks like a little oblong black thing. he tells me he's going to send it to pathology and decides that he's going to prescribe me doxysomething in case it was a tick. i ask him why the vancosomething was set up for every 24 hours when it seemed to be working to decrease the swelling. he says it should be every 12 hours and says he'll change the orders. my fever is spiking so i ask for motrin. 2 hours later the motrin, doxysomething, and vancosomething arrive.

sunday - the infectious disease guy comes in to tell me nothing grew from the culture. i ask if they'd typically expect something to grow from the culture since i'd already been on antibiotic? shouldn't someone have taken a culture when i first got here? he says that he's going to send in the orthopedic surgeon to drain fluid from my elbow as that should promote healing. i'm thinking healing from what? you guys have no idea what i have. the orthopedic surgeon comes checks me out and immediately says "looks like a tick bite". he's not sure there's any fluid in there, that it looks like it just might me tissue swelling, but sticks a needle in my arm anyway because that's what the infectious disease guy asked for. he roots around for a while and gets nothing. finally at the last second before he's about to give up, he finds some pus. he thinks they may be able to get a culture of this. now my arm is swollen, red, itchy, hot, and hurts like heck. and they still have no idea what i have. and i had to prompt them to do something about the thing that led directly to 50% of my treatment right now. idiots.

NOTE: i fully recognize how hard their jobs are and the amount of training they've had to go through or the various pressures they face and how they're held to such a high standard (though a lot of that they bring upon themselves by doing self important things like insisting that everyone refer to them as "doctor" so and so instead of "mister" so and so). there are plenty of doctors who i respect and i think are smart, but the fact that these guys have taken a completely empirical approach to treating me and have shown little, if any, interest in actually figuring out what is causing it illustrates a fundamental problem with western medicine -- it's designed to treat symptoms and not cure diseases. not a bad business model i guess. if they actually cured people, they'd lose most of their recurring customers.

-end rant-

at least the eagles won. wasn't elegant, but it was exciting at the end.

Labels: , ,

Monday, October 01, 2007

Scrapplelog on Hiatus

scrapplelog is on hiatus for a couple of weeks due to overseas travel for work.

go phils!

Labels: ,

Friday, January 19, 2007

Kissmesuzy on Bill Simmons

oofa. i'll admit i think "the sports guy" is waaay overrated, but these guys flat out hate him.

Labels:

Thursday, January 04, 2007

Instincts and Sports

interesting blurb from bill walsh in bob brookover's article today about jeff garcia:
Somebody with every organization would always ding him because they'd get caught up in the measurables. What Jeff has is the instincts that are outstanding in all great athletes. He has natural instincts, and I was always looking for those. Some people in coaching don't realize they have to be there for a quarterback to be great. They look at size and strength, and instincts should be No. 1.
walsh touches on a pretty interesting topic, imo, and it's timely given ben's question about the hall of fame and derek jeter/steve jeltz. i do think it's a fair argument to say that, if he had not played for the yankees and had instead played for the royals his whole career, jeter wouldn't have even been an all-star let alone a potential hall of famer because his legacy and reputation was built primarily around winning.

however, another thing that i find interesting is this notion of instincts and intangibles. when it comes to evaluating a player's performance or making comparisons, it's easy to start with the measurables -- physical characteristics and on-field statistics. however, there isn't a perfect correlation between the measurables and winning. heck, sometimes the correlation isn't very strong at all.

a-rod is a better SS than jeter in virtually all aspects of the game. jeter is a good, but not great, hitter, jeter doesn't hit for much power, and jeter stinks in the field. a-rod may be the best hitter of his generation, a-rod is a great power hitter, and a-rod is a pretty good fielder. yet can you imagine a-rod making that flip play to posada to catch jeremy giambi at the plate? somehow i have a hard time seeing that. do plays like that override everything else? if you think jeter is a better player than a-rod, it seems you do.

so how do you determine who is a better player than another? i think it's a pretty broad topic and one that i certainly don't have an answer for -- i tend to lean toward the measurables side. however, walsh's quote did get me thinking more about the thing i like most about garcia -- he seems so comfortable as a QB, he's a natural at it.

donovan is better than garcia at just about every measurable aspect of the game, but somehow he just doesn't seem comfortable doing it. he lacks a natural ease, he seems so robotic while garcia seems so (to use walsh's word) instinctive. that doesn't mean that garcia is a better QB, but i think that's one part of why the fans have taken a liking to him.

Labels: , ,

Wednesday, January 03, 2007

Wednesday Links

- my brother sent this link to me a while ago but i forgot to post... pigskinplanet.com has pdf copies of actual nfl playbooks -- 1987 chicago bears defense (tobin), 1998 tampa bay buccaneers defense (kiffin), and 2003 new england patriots (weis).

- jack mccaffrey predicts sports headlines for 2007

Labels: ,

Wednesday, November 08, 2006

15000 Visitors

scrapplelog hit a milestone during my work hiatus, surpassing 15000 visitors and 20000 page views since i started posting in earnest in september 2005.

Labels:

Tuesday, September 05, 2006

How Much Butter Can You Eat In One Sitting...

i received this in an email from, i'm guessing, a turkey hill marketing guy. it's an ice cream eating contest for eagles fans, and the prize is a trip to tampa to watch the birds play on 10/22/2006.

WHAT: Eagles Fan Ice Cream Eating Contest

WHERE: Outside Lincoln Financial Field

WHEN: Preliminary rounds: Sunday 9/17 and Monday 10/2

Final round: Sunday 10/8

PRIZE: Autographed stuff (prelims) and a trip for two to Tampa, Florida to watch the Eagles/Bucs game on 10/22 (finals).

HOW TO ENTER: Sign up at http://941freefm.com/pages/71947.php

needless to say, bumble, this has your name written all over it.

Labels:

Tuesday, July 25, 2006

Mammograms

so i've been sitting on a jury (doing my civic duty and all that) for a civil trial the last few days where the central issue is mammograms and it occurs to me that x-rays of other body parts don't seem to get special names (at least to my knowledge). do they have a name for an arm x-ray other than "x-ray of your arm?"

anyway, i wish they had picked "breast-ray" rather than "mammogram". it would make me chuckle.

Labels:

Thursday, June 01, 2006

Referrals

as if you needed more proof that the internet exists primarily as a medium for the exchange of pornography, an analysis of the referring sites shows that my brief mention of stacy keibler has generated more site traffic on this sports related blog than any other single topic. a full 5 out of the last twenty referring links were from yahoo and google searches associated with ms. keibler -- "stacy keibler", "stacy keibler hot", and "stacy keibler porn". the next most popular was "sixers trade rumors" with 3. the rest were tied at 1 apiece -- my favorite in this category was "christy canyon" from my brief attempt to manipulate the google ads.

Labels:

Monday, May 29, 2006

Back Home

finally back from my trip to india and romania. it's nice to be home.

of course what i come back to is dreck. seems like the phils are back to playing the same old brand of heartless ball as ever. will gillick fire manuel? can anyone think of a worse leadoff hitter than jimmy rollins? will someone decide to move abreau to leadoff?

i've been thinking about what to do with my boy. do i turn him into a philadelphia sports fan? is that the right thing to do knowing that he'll be in store for a lifetime of disappointment? should i let him pick his own teams? i probably won't but the thought does cross my mind from time to time.

btw - the kid measured 30" and 23.3 lbs at his 9 month checkup.

Labels: