Monday, February 06, 2006

bad superbowl calls

look, before i get inundated with email attacks, here are some of the ones i thought were questionable:

- darrell jackson touchdown called back due to "offensive pass interference". the call was way more offensive than the actual interference. you simply cannot make that call in the superbowl (or at least call it the other 4-5 times it occurs during every football game)

- darrell jackson called out of bounds at the end of the first half. one foot in, other foot hits the pylon. am i the only one that thinks this is clearly a touchdown? what, no review? no mention by madden or michaels? what gives here? isn't that the rule? pylon = inbounds?

- roethlisberger touchdown. eh, i can understand why it wasn't overturned, but i think it was clear he didn't get in.

- hasselbeck 15 YD penalty after the pick. what? then again, didn't the eagles have a call like that against them this season? i'm trying the erase it from my memory, so i'm short on details, but i'm pretty sure mcmahon had that same call against him... was it against the seahawks?

- phantom holding call on the long pass to stevens (which ultimately led to the hasselbeck pick). this was probably the single biggest game changing call and probably the single worst call as well. to make matters worse, i thought that haggans was offside on the play. so not only was he not held, he was offside and seattle should have gotten a free play.

- all the non-holding calls on the steelers

- the non-delay of game penalty on the steelers

Labels:

5 Comments:

Anonymous Phil said...

Regarding the D-Jack out of bounds call, I think that was a good call. The pylon is just a marker for where the endzone starts. I think you still need to have "2 feet down" inbounds. Someone wouldn't be ruled down in bounds if they had one foot down and the other foot brush against the leg of someone standing in bounds. Same thing.

1:19 PM EST  
Blogger The Mean Guy said...

the pylon is inbounds. if you hit the pylon then you in effect came down inbounds.

the guys at football outsiders seem to think the same thing, citing an nfl rule that states

"A player no longer can be ruled out of bounds when he touches a pylon unless he already touched the boundary line."

that seems to indicate pylon = touchdown.

2:12 PM EST  
Anonymous Phil said...

Saw that. I read that comment to imply the player already has possession of the ball based on the second half of the sentence. I think my analogy is still good though.

It's a grey area though and I definitely think it should have warranted a review or some sort of explanation at the least from the officials.

And you could be totally correct.

3:05 PM EST  
Anonymous Anonymous said...

I agree the seahawks should have won because the refes kept taking away the hawks momentum and momentum is a big factor in a game like this. Pope22

5:46 PM EST  
Anonymous Phil said...

Just saw a second sentence added to the quote that says 1 foot down and 1 foot on pylon is TD. Apparently, the rule was changed to this a couple years ago.

10:50 AM EST  

Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home